Puerto Vallarta fishing reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2018

Best part of my vacation

I recently took a trip down to Puerto Vallarta and went fishing with Capt. Pete. I had a fantastic time! Fishing was great and the atmosphere was incredible. Capt. Pete was very helpful and informative, my group and I definitely learned a lot and are looking forward to doing it again! I recommend this trip for anyone who loves being on the water and fishing, of course

puerto vallarta marlin fishing

Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewRespondeAugust 8, 2018

Hilary
thanks for coming out with us and yes it was a killer day. What a fun group to have on the water. Glad to hear yall had a super day and yes please come back next year
We will be waiting
Thanks
Capt. Pete and crews

Puerto Vallarta fishing reviews

Avoid the tourist traps, this was the real trip highlight!                                                                                 July 20, 2018

Captain Pete donated his time and boat to take a group of American veterans out on the water fishing for the day. Thank you!
We had both “experienced” and beginner anglers and we all had a blast. He really worked hard to put us on the fish and we were able to snag some barracuda, bonita and bottom fish. The boat is set up really well for big game fishing and very comfy! Ample space both inside and out. Bench seating on the flybridge to search for fish or just enjoy the views and chat it up with the Captain.

Whether you’re serious anglers, a family with kids or a group of friends looking to try a new experience… you will not be disappointed!

fishing reviews in puerto vallarta

 

Eric
thank you so much for taking the time to come out with us and be part of the Puerto Vallarta fishing veterans trip. We do around a 1000 trips a year but none more enjoyable than taking American veterans out on our boats. I enjoyed being able to speak with each veteran one on one to learn just a little about each veteran and how you guys and girls got to be on the boat with us. I was an absolute blast and I was happy to help out. I know a little more about what our veterans go through while protecting our country and the price you pay and other veterans do to help each of us here in the United States and beyond. I also work with the Coast Gaurd here in Puerto Vallarta Mexico and these guys have some incredible stories as well. I have to be honest there is none better than your story. All the hard work that you have done in service to our country, teaching and now giving back to our veterans. Job well done my friend. And for the folks that read this, I personally want to thank you for your service and hope to see you again soon.
Bay the way it was only later that I find out that Eric is a Purple Heart recipient. A real hero and good friend
Tight lines and keep up the good work
Capt. Peter Vines and crews

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g150793-d2294229-r605482779-Puerto_Vallarta_Fishing_Capt_Pete-Puerto_Vallarta.html#
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g150793-d2294229-r605482779-Puerto_Vallarta_Fishing_Capt_Pete-Puerto_Vallarta.html#
Hard working friendly captain and crew                                                                                                     July 15, 2018

Awesome experience, Great boat, great captain and a great crew. We did not succeed in landing a big one so Captain Pete made sure to put us on some fish. Everybody had fun and we all enjoyed the special treats shared with us. Dos Amigos is a great vessel to spend a day on.
The American Veterans hosted by Anglers Anonymous Central Coast are very grateful for the support of Puerto Vallarta Fishing. Without them, our time in Puerto Vallarta would not have been nearly so special. Captain Pete went above and beyond making sure we had fun. These memories are PRICELESS!

Greg
thanks so much for letting us be part of the first trip to help our American veterans here in Puerto Vallarta fishing. It was an honor to have you who set this up through our company and to have the veterans out with us fishing. The trips were fantastic and it was great to be able to spend time with our veterans who fought for our freedom and to spend the day with you talking about fishing. We sure hope this is the first of many trips we will be doing here in Puerto Vallarta Mexico.
There are several charities that my company helps here in Puerto Vallarta and the surrounding areas but none better than giving back to our veterans. I know everyone had a great time and I hope to see you and more veterans in the near future.
Thanks again
Capt. Pete and crews

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g150793-d2294229-r605139843-Puerto_Vallarta_Fishing_Capt_Pete-Puerto_Vallarta.html#
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g150793-d2294229-r605139843-Puerto_Vallarta_Fishing_Capt_Pete-Puerto_Vallarta.html#

What a great time with Capt. Pete                                                                                                                 July 12, 2018

This was the best part of my whole trip for the 7 days I was in Puerto Vallarta Captain Pete took 6 of my family members out fishing for 6 hours we caught 5 Yellow Tail Tuna. Captain Pete seemed to know where to go to catch the catch that day. He is very nice and very knowledgeable. I had a wonderful fishing experience with him and his crew and I would go out again with him if I happen to take another holiday there. .You will not be disappointed.

puerto vallarta fishing

What a fun day with fun folks and thank you so much for coming out with us. Glad to hear your fishing days was one of the highlights here in Puerto Vallarta. Always fun when ya can catch a boat load of fish see the whales, dolphins and manta rays all in one day while enjoying your time on the water with us. Thanks for spending one of your fantastic days with us and we surely hope to see yall again in the future
Capt. Pete

 

Wonderful time with Capt. PeteJune 2, 2018

I’m always a little leery hiring a captain for the first time. Most reviews omit many of the things I’m interested in, so I’ll try to be specific and rank my preferences in order of importance (to me).

The first thing I look for is a captain who knows how to fish and who is pleasant to be with. In both regards, you can’t do better than Capt. Pete. My hat is off to a Pete who ran 6 lines off the spreaders, 2 flat lines off the stern, and an additional teaser or two… all at the same time. The more lines in the water, the greater the chances of hooking up; and until you try for yourself to keep that many lines in the water without winding up with a tangled mess, you may not appreciate the skill involved.

Second: the equipment. Some captains use cheap rods and reels making fishing difficult and not much fun. The equipment on Dos Amigos is very good. The rods take most of the punishment: not your back. And the reels are packed full or nearly so. If a big fish wants to run, I don’t want to worry about running out of line. (Also, on 1/2 empty reels the drag tension increases too fast which could lead to a lost fish. That is not a problem on the Dos Amigos.)

puerto vallarta fishing charters

Third: the crew and the boat: Luis and Jose were very helpful and just plain fun to be around. The Dos Amigos rides comfortably and keeps the fishing deck and the fishermen dry.

Last: catching fish. I put that last on my list, even though most would rank that at number one. If you fish enough, you know that some days the big fish simply don’t cooperate, no matter how great all of the other factors are that I discussed above. However, on our 8 hour trip with Capt. Pete and the crew of the Dos Amigos, we landed two beautiful Marlin.

I couldn’t be more pleased, and look forward to fishing with Capt. Pete on our next visit to Puerto Vallarta.

Larry
what a fun day and I really appreciate you taking you family ( the guys ) out fishing with us. It always helps when our guest know their way around the boat and how to use the gear. Yes a few marlin in the same day is quite good and you guys did a great job bringing those big boys in.


I can not agree more with your comments about fishing and I proud myself/crews on taking care of our clients and providing a first class experience while fishing with us. We use avet 2 speeds and change line several times a year so when we do hook those marlin we always get them to the boat
Thanks again for coming out with us and hope to see ya next year

 

 

Best boat in Puerto Vallarta                                                                                                                        May 27, 2018

Captain Pete and the crew are extremely hard workers and they know their fishing. They are very aware of the water conditions and where the fish are biting. The boat is the most comfortable boat I have been on and it is very well maintained. I highly recommend this boat for families and friends. They also make the best fresh Ceviche I have ever eaten.

catching big marlin in Puerto Vallarta

Marlin in Puerto Vallarta

Thank you for coming out with us and taking time to let others know who to fish with while in Puerto Vallarta fishing charters. I hope to see you and family again next year.
Tight lines
Capt. Pete and super crews

 

 

 

Fun day on the water with Capt. Pete                                                                                                         May 20 ,2018

Like others we read about Captain Pete on Trip Advisor and set up a 8hr day with him aboard the Dos Amigos! He was very quick to answer all of our questions prior to booking! Caught Mackerel and Jack Crevalles! Boy do the Jacks put up a mighty fight! On the water we got to see whales breaching, turtles, dolphins and a manta ray! It was a great day on the water with Captain Pete & his Crew! If we return to Puerto Vallarta we will be looking him up again to take us out fishing! Thank You! 🙂

puerto vallarta fishing report

Thank you so much for choosing our company while fishing in Puerto Vallarta . We know there are several options but we always do our best to make sure everyone has a great day on the water. Yes what a fun day and fun catching all those fish in Puerto Vallarta. We sure hope you can come again with us next time for more fun and more fish.
Fishful thinking
Capt. Pete and crews
P.s. thax for taking time to.

Show less

 

Awesome Time with Capt. Pete                                                                                                                May 15, 2018

We were a party of 12 on one of Capt Pete’s Deep Sea Fishing trips. All I can say is we had a great time. The crew was very knowledgeable and very friendly. Each of us caught at least two fish each and the crew filleted them for us before we left the boat. I would highly recommend Capt Pete. You will not be disappointed!

fishing boat in puerto vallarta

Yes what a awesome day with some awesome people. We provide the fishing gear and boat but it’s the clients and fish that supply the fun times. Thank you so much for coming out with us and hope to see yall soon
Capt. Pete and crews
p.s. a special thanks for taking the time to let others

know who to fish with in Puerto Vallarta fishing charters

 

 

 

 

 

Great Day of fishing in Puerto Vallarta                                                                                                    May 10,2018

Capt. And crew knew what they were doing very friendly an fun would recommend them highly boat an equipment very well taken care of..  We will be back next year.  What a fun day.

sailfish catching in puerto vallarta mexico

 

Tom
thank you so much for coming out with us and the great day of fishing . Hope we can entertain you and guests in the future.
Special thanks for taking time to let others know who to fish with in Puerto Vallarta fishing charters
Tight Lines
Capt.Pete

 

 

 

Dave and Nancy Yonker                                                                                                                             May 3, 2018

We saw Capt Pete’s website on line. We have booked numerous trips in a variety of places. You never know what your going to get. We fished in the 29ft. Super Panga with Capt. Freddy and Victor. They have a super nice boat and really nice equipment. They were knowledgeable and professional. We do a lot of fishing back home so we understand fishing is finding fish.
My wife and I booked an 8 he trip. We had so much action on large Jack Crevelle, that our arms were toast by noon. We brought 17 to the boat this day. Thanks  Capt. Pete for a memorable trip. We will be back.
Dave and Nancy

puerto vallarta fishing

Big fish in Puerto Vallarta

Hi Dave and Nancy
Thax.so much for coming out with us. Capt. Freddy is one of the best capt. We have. All our boats do the best for our clients. We really appreciate the comments and hope to see yall again next year
Tight lines
Capt. Pete and crews

 

 

Family Holiday                                                                                april 10, 2018

I had heard about Captain Pete from several friends and decided to give him a try. To say the least were not disappointed. We booked a full day trip for my wife and 11 year old son. Pete was kind enough to pick us up well north of PV at the La Cruz Marina close to where we were staying on Banderas Bay. Both Pete and his mate were great. They met us right on time with a fully stocked cooler and bait well. Pete fishes pretty much every day and knew exactly where to fish. On the way out he took the time to slow the boat to a stop and point out interesting wildlife to us.

My son was dead set on catching his first marlin and he was not disappointed. It was not until the end of the day, but we hooked a 110lb Striped Marlin and my son was in for the duration. He took 45 minutes to bring it in and Pete let him bring it all the way in.

It was the highlight of the trip and really made my sons vacation. He has talked about catching a big fish for years and although he was exhausted by the time he brought it in, it was the experience of a lifetime. Thanks Pete

Puerto vallarta fishing

 

pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this review Responded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to let others know about our charters. It’s like i say all the time. ” good things happen to good people. It was a pleasure to help ya with your first marlin. What a great job bringing in that marlin. Your son Dakato is quite a fisherman. We hope to see yall again next time you are in PUERTO VALLARTA fishing. Tight lines and stay in touch.
Capt. Peter Vines and crews
P.s. hope the rest of your vacation was just as good as your fishing trip

Awesome Time

We were a party of 12 on one of Capt Pete’s Deep Sea Fishing trips. All I can say is we had a great time. The crew was very knowledgeable and very friendly. Each of us caught at least two fish each and the crew filleted them for us before we left the boat. I would highly recommend Capt Pete. You will not be disappointed!

fishing Puerto Vallarta

pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this review Responded 1 week ago

Yes what a awesome day with some awesome people. We provide the fishing gear and boat but it’s the clients and fish that supply the fun times. Thank you so much for coming out with us and hope to see yall soon
Capt. Pete and crews
p.s. a special thanks for taking the time to let other know who to fish with in Puerto Vallarta fishing charters

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Fun day on the water

Like others we read about Captain Pete on Trip Advisor and set up a 8hr day with him aboard the Dos Amigos! He was very quick to answer all of our questions prior to booking! Caught Mackerel and Jack Crevalles! Boy do the Jacks put up a mighty fight! On the water we got to see whales breaching, turtles, dolphins and a manta ray! It was a great day on the water with Captain Pete & his Crew! If we return to Puerto Vallarta we will be looking him up again to take us out fishing! Thank You! :

great day one the water

pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this review Responded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for choosing our company while fishing in Puerto Vallarta . We know there are several options but we always do our best to make sure everyone has a great day on the water. Yes what a fun day and fun catching all those fish in Puerto Vallarta. We sure hope you can come again with us next time for more fun and more fish.
Fishful thinking
Capt. Pete and crews
P.s. thax for taking time to.

Great fishng trip

We booked with Capt Pete and they were very quick to get back with us. They answered all of our questions and our fishing trip was very successful! They took us to a place that cooked our fish. We have a great trip! We saw a whale :

 

pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this review Responded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for spending the day with us and hope you can come back sometime. Special thanks for taking time to let other know who to enjoy rhe day with when in Puerto Vallarta fishing.
Tight lines
Capt. Pete
Dos amigos
#PuertoVallartaFishing

Book your trip with Capt. Pete

Fun day on the water! We went out early and enjoyed the sunrise. We quickly caught big Yellow Tail and a Mackerel in the bay and also went out by Punta Mita. Saw a lot of whales breaching and playing in close view; dolphins jumping; and huge manta rays enjoying the sunshine. The Dos Amigos (Capt Pete & Luis) were great and we enjoyed our time with them.

 

Thank jarlandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this review Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for coming out with us and yes what a fantastic day. Whales, fish, good folks to fish with and the beautiful weather here in Puerto Vallarta fishing. So happy you guys enjoyed the day with us and hope you can come again some time
Capt. Pete and crews
p.s. a special thax for taking the time to let others know who to fish with while on vacation in Puerto Vallarta

Reviewed March
Book your trip with Capt. Pete

Fun day on the water! We went out early and enjoyed the sunrise. We quickly caught big Yellow Tail and a Mackerel in the bay and also went out by Punta Mita. Saw a lot of whales breaching and playing in close view; dolphins jumping; and huge manta rays enjoying the sunshine. The Dos Amigos (Capt Pete & Luis) were great and we enjoyed our time with them.

whale watching in puerto vallarta

Thank jarlandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete,

Thank you so much for coming out with us and yes what a fantastic day. Whales, fish, good folks to fish with and the beautiful weather here in Puerto Vallarta fishing. So happy you guys enjoyed the day with us and hope you can come again some time
Capt. Pete and crews
p.s. a special thax for taking the time to let others know who to fish with while on vacation in Puerto Vallart