Puerto Vallarta fishng reviews

Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete

Add Business Hours
Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48355, Mexico

Saved

Review Highlights
Family Holiday

I had heard about Captain Pete from several friends and decided to give him a try. To say the…read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
matthewvdowley

,

Deephaven, Minnesota
Awesome Time

We were a party of 12 on one of Capt Pete’s Deep Sea Fishing trips. All I can say is we had a great…read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Rhopar33

,

Raleigh, North Carolina

Read all 185 reviews

  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Location
  • Q&A
Overview

More

The only American owned and operated charter company in Puerto Vallarta that offers deep sea fishing and other boat cruises. Winner of Sailfish , Marlin and dorado divisions in 2017 Fishing tournament. Seen on ESPN and other fishing shows. Fish with the pros and see the difference .
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about

“tuna” (18 reviews)

“hour trip” (19 reviews)

“catch fish” (11 reviews)

LOCATION
Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48355, Mexico

Similar Things to Do in Puerto Vallarta

Traveler rating
  • Excellent

  • Very good

  • Average

  • Poor

  • Terrible

Traveler type
Time of year
Language

All reviews

tuna
hour trip
catch fish
big ones
super panga
crew worked hard
large marlin
huge manta rays
bay trip
yellow tail
great boat
spanish mackerel
great trip
whale whisperer
dolphins jumping
bait fish
capable hands

110 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had heard about Captain Pete from several friends and decided to give him a try. To say the least were not disappointed. We booked a full day trip for my wife and 11 year old son. Pete was kind enough to pick us up well north of PV at the La Cruz Marina close to where we were staying on Banderas Bay. Both Pete and his mate were great. They met us right on time with a fully stocked cooler and bait well. Pete fishes pretty much every day and knew exactly where to fish. On the way out he took the time to slow the boat to a stop and point out interesting wildlife to us.

My son was dead set on catching his first marlin and he was not disappointed. It was not until the end of the day, but we hooked a 110lb Striped Marlin and my son was in for the duration. He took 45 minutes to bring it in and Pete let him bring it all the way in.

It was the highlight of the trip and really made my sons vacation. He has talked about catching a big fish for years and although he was exhausted by the time he brought it in, it was the experience of a lifetime. Thanks Pete!!

Show less

Thank matthewvdowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to let others know about our charters. It’s like i say all the time. ” good things happen to good people. It was a pleasure to help ya with your first marlin. What a great job bringing in that marlin. Your son Dakato is quite a fisherman. We hope to see yall again next time you are in PUERTO VALLARTA fishing. Tight lines and stay in touch.
Capt. Peter Vines and crews
P.s. hope the rest of your vacation was just as good as your fishing trip

Show less

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a party of 12 on one of Capt Pete’s Deep Sea Fishing trips. All I can say is we had a great time. The crew was very knowledgeable and very friendly. Each of us caught at least two fish each and the crew filleted them for us before we left the boat. I would highly recommend Capt Pete. You will not be disappointed!

Show less

Thank Rhopar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yes what a awesome day with some awesome people. We provide the fishing gear and boat but it’s the clients and fish that supply the fun times. Thank you so much for coming out with us and hope to see yall soon
Capt. Pete and crews
p.s. a special thanks for taking the time to let other know who to fish with in Puerto Vallarta fishing charters

Show less

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like others we read about Captain Pete on Trip Advisor and set up a 8hr day with him aboard the Dos Amigos! He was very quick to answer all of our questions prior to booking! Caught Mackerel and Jack Crevalles! Boy do the Jacks put up a mighty fight! On the water we got to see whales breaching, turtles, dolphins and a manta ray! It was a great day on the water with Captain Pete & his Crew! If we return to Puerto Vallarta we will be looking him up again to take us out fishing! Thank You! 🙂

Show less

Thank PRupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for choosing our company while fishing in Puerto Vallarta . We know there are several options but we always do our best to make sure everyone has a great day on the water. Yes what a fun day and fun catching all those fish in Puerto Vallarta. We sure hope you can come again with us next time for more fun and more fish.
Fishful thinking
Capt. Pete and crews
P.s. thax for taking time to.

Show less

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked with Capt Pete and they were very quick to get back with us. They answered all of our questions and our fishing trip was very successful! They took us to a place that cooked our fish. We have a great trip! We saw a whale 🙂

Show less

Thank Collette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for spending the day with us and hope you can come back sometime. Special thanks for taking time to let other know who to enjoy rhe day with when in Puerto Vallarta fishing.
Tight lines
Capt. Pete
Dos amigos
#PuertoVallartaFishing

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Fun day on the water! We went out early and enjoyed the sunrise. We quickly caught big Yellow Tail and a Mackerel in the bay and also went out by Punta Mita. Saw a lot of whales breaching and playing in close view; dolphins jumping; and huge manta rays enjoying the sunshine. The Dos Amigos (Capt Pete & Luis) were great and we enjoyed our time with them.

Show less

Thank jarlandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for coming out with us and yes what a fantastic day. Whales, fish, good folks to fish with and the beautiful weather here in Puerto Vallarta fishing. So happy you guys enjoyed the day with us and hope you can come again some time
Capt. Pete and crews
p.s. a special thax for taking the time to let others know who to fish with while on vacation in Puerto Vallarta

Show less

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I’m always a little leery hiring a captain for the first time. Most reviews omit many of the things I’m interested in, so I’ll try to be specific and rank my preferences in order of importance (to me).

The first thing I look for is a captain who knows how to fish and who is pleasant to be with. In both regards, you can’t do better than Capt. Pete. My hat is off to a Pete who ran 6 lines off the spreaders, 2 flat lines off the stern, and an additional teaser or two… all at the same time. The more lines in the water, the greater the chances of hooking up; and until you try for yourself to keep that many lines in the water without winding up with a tangled mess, you may not appreciate the skill involved.

Second: the equipment. Some captains use cheap rods and reels making fishing difficult and not much fun. The equipment on Dos Amigos is very good. The rods take most of the punishment: not your back. And the reels are packed full or nearly so. If a big fish wants to run, I don’t want to worry about running out of line. (Also, on 1/2 empty reels the drag tension increases too fast which could lead to a lost fish. That is not a problem on the Dos Amigos.)

Third: the crew and the boat: Luis and Jose were very helpful and just plain fun to be around. The Dos Amigos rides comfortably and keeps the fishing deck and the fishermen dry.

Last: catching fish. I put that last on my list, even though most would rank that at number one. If you fish enough, you know that some days the big fish simply don’t cooperate, no matter how great all of the other factors are that I discussed above. However, on our 8 hour trip with Capt. Pete and the crew of the Dos Amigos, we landed two beautiful Marlin.

I couldn’t be more pleased, and look forward to fishing with Capt. Pete on our next visit to Puerto Vallarta.

Show less

Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Larry
what a fun day and I really appreciate you taking you family ( the guys ) out fishing with us. It always helps when our guest know their way around the boat and how to use the gear. Yes a few marlin in the same day is quite good and you guys did a great job bringing those big boys in.
I can not agree more with your comments about fishing and I proud myself/crews on taking care of our clients and providing a first class experience while fishing with us. We use avet 2 speeds and change line several times a year so when we do hook those marlin we always get them to the boat
Thanks again for coming out with us and hope to see ya next year
Capt. Pete

Show less

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

Three of us booked a 6 hr trip with Capt Pete. Luis and Pablo took us out that day on the Dos Amigos. We were hoping for Mahi but the Toros ruled the day as they were schooling all over the bay. We did catch a bonito and a spanish mackerel so Pablo made some fresh mackerel ceviche on the ride in. Plenty of whales breaching and also saw a few pods of dolphins. Overall a great day on the water and the crew was first class!

Show less

Thank Sportsmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Yes what a fun day and always a fun time when the fish are biting like crazy. The mahi mahi did not want to come out because there were so many other fish beating them to the bait. This time of the year the whales are a spectacular surprise for most folks and fun to see on the way out and coming back. Happy to hear you guys enjoyed the fresh fish made onboard and sure hope you can come down again sometime. If ya do please stop by and say hello. We really appreciate the business and thanks for taking the time to let others know about our first class service in Puerto Vallarta fishing charters.

Show less

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

This was the best part of my whole trip for the 7 days I was in Puerto Vallarta Captain Pete took 6 of my family members out fishing for 6 hours we caught 5 yellow Tail Tuna. Captain Pete seemed to know where to go to catch the catch that day. He is very nice and very knowledgeable. I had a wonderful fishing experience with him and his crew and I would go out again with him if I happen to take another holiday there. .You will not be disappointed.

Show less

Thank wishing4diamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a fun day with fun folks and thank you so much for coming out with us. Glad to hear your fishing days was one of the highlights here in Puerto Vallarta. Always fun when ya can catch a boat load of fish see the whales, dolphins and manta rays all in one day while enjoying your time on the water with us. Thanks for spending one of your fantastic days with us and we surely hope to see yall again in the future
Capt. Pete

Show less

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Met Capt. Pete and Luis for a 6 hour Bay trip and it was great. Only one fish but we saw so many whales, some with babies, and the largest pod of dolphin we have ever witnessed in person. The crew worked hard to find us fish but only one boat out of many in the bay had anything. Definitely recommend Capt. Pete and crew for any of your fishing trips and will use them again on our next trip.
Godspeed and thanks for the memories.
Mark & Sherry from North Carolina.

Show less

Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mark
it was a pleasure to get to spend the day with such nice folks from North Carolina. You know I used to live there and love that state. So happy yall had a good time and yes somedays the fish just don’t want to bite all day. We really appreciate you taking the time to let others know about our charters service here in Puerto Vallarta fishng. Come see us again and I’ll get yall a couple of marlin or sailfish.
Fishful thinking
Capt. Pete and crews

Show less

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2018 via mobile

5 of us went out for a full day of fishing with Capt Pete & first mate, Luis. ALL of us caught fish & 4 of us caught 2! We only kept 4 & Luis filleted them up for us so we could take them back to our hotel to have them cooked up.
The ocean was rocking & rolling which prevented us from getting out to the big fish but we were all very happy to catch what we did ~ TUNA!

Capt Pete has lots of stories & a great sense of humor . Luis was very helpful for some of us who had never done more than lake fishing.

I’ll definitely call up Capt Pete the next time I’m in PV!

Here’s a couple that I could hold up (briefly):

Show less

Thank Lauri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing – Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Lauri
ya bring me 5 girls that like to fish and then catch a bunch a fish wow !! Wish you girls could come out with me every day. What a fun day and even better group of girls. Thank you so much so coming out with us and of course taking the time to tell others about our 5 star charter service. Hope yall have a great spring break and we will see ya next year.
Capt. Pete and crews

Show less

Report response as inappropriate

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby

Nearby HotelsSee all 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta

Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
92 reviews
.08 miles away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
403 reviews
.30 miles away
Casa Velas
1,671 reviews
.30 miles away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
176 reviews
.30 miles away

Nearby Restaurants

Mr. Cream Pancakes and Waffles
319 reviews
.11 miles away
Mr. Cream
234 reviews
.11 miles away
Porto Bello
686 reviews
.12 miles away
Bachas Restaurant
332 reviews
.16 miles away

Nearby Attractions

Marina Vallarta
1,473 reviews
.10 miles away
El Faro Lighthouse
372 reviews
.18 miles away
Abdallahy 4D
15 reviews
.09 miles away
Arte Culinario by Mavi Graf
358 reviews
.12 miles away

Ask a question

Questions & Answers
rodampto
Sarah O
April 14, 2018|

AnswerShow all 7 answers

Response from pvsail | Property representative |
sure we can get ya out for fun day. just google capt. pete Puerto vallarta fishing or visit our website. I’m not allow to post it here Thax Capt. Pete

Delete

0
Votes
Pastorschatz
July 1, 2016|

AnswerShow all 3 answers

Response from pvsail | Property representative |
Sounds great send me message through Web site. I can not post my web site or tel number here Fishful Thinking Capt. Pete Ps. Have a Happy and safe 4 th. Of July

Delete

0
Votes
Puerto Vallarta Fishing - Capt Pete
Boat Tours, Fishing Charters & Tours, Boat Rentals, Dolphin & Whale Watching
PV Sportfishing
Boat Tours, Fishing Charters & Tours
Charly's Sport fishing & Tours
4WD, ATV & Off-Road Tours, Zipline & Aerial Adventure Parks, Boat Tours, Fishing Charters & Tours, Boat Rentals
Vallarta Adventures
Boat Tours, Dolphin & Whale Watching, Scuba & Snorkeling, Swim with Dolphins, 4WD, ATV & Off-Road Tours